Skip to content

Since The Fun Bus Left Without You

May 2, 2011
by

I posted a tweet regarding the USBC technical score sheet and some scoring I’ve been seeing this year In regards to acceptable waste when dosing/grinding. I kept seeing wording like >1/2g, with scores like 5, 5.5, etc… According to some head judges I’ve talked to they’re ruling anything less than 1 gram with a 6. Some judges are ruling anything that a scale will register under a 6. I just didn’t know where that rule came from so if someone could show me that’d be sweet. I’m willing to be wrong. I’ve just never seen any wording in the Rules and Regs about this. All I’ve found is “In order to earn maximum points the waste should not exceed 1 gram of unused coffee per beverage category.” That plus writing something like >1/2 is so ambiguous and useless as it could mean 1gram or it could mean 4grams. Anyway: I didn’t compete so no I’m not complaining about my score sheet, this is not in regards to Truby’s score sheet, one point on the tech sheet isn’t changing anything, and as far as I’m concerned you can throw the tech sheet out the window if you have good sensory judges as it doesn’t give you any real feedback. But my point was:

If judges can take the liberty to interpret the score sheet in ways that are not in explicitly stated in the rules and regs doesn’t this pull the wool over the competitors eyes and keep them in the dark about what they should be preparing for? I mean the tech sheet’s not a big deal but what interpretations are creeping onto the sensory score sheets? Maybe even the sensory multipliers. Anywhoo, my experience as a judge has been minimal but I have experienced different head judges having different interpretations on certain rules on both the sensory and technical score sheet. Shouldn’t everything just be on paper plain as day?

Apologies to anyone who thought it was Truby complaining about his score sheet. For the record he’s perfectly fine with his score sheet and would never complain about something like that. Shame on you guys, you should know by now he’s way to awesome to do anything like that.

Does this make sense? Maybe not. The last thing I wanted to do was write but you made me $__$

I’m gonna go hydrate and go to bed. Good seeing you all this weekend.

-Christopher George Baca-

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2011 9:47 pm

    Chris, ultimately, you’re absolutely right. The only thing is that sometimes the notes judges write aren’t always meant to be explanations or justifications for scores. People jot stuff down quickly as it happens, and there’s very often a lack of correlation between notes and scores. Judges should be more careful though.

    Also, the wording of the Rules and Regs often sucks a big turd sandwich.

    Good to see you in Ho-town.

  2. May 3, 2011 6:04 pm

    here you go george!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

